NSML > News > Press Releases


Press Releases

5th September, 2014





The final shortlist of three writers has been approved by the Advisory Board for The Nigeria Prize for Literature sponsored by Nigeria LNG Limited. This announcement follows an initial shortlist of eleven which was released in July. The three shortlisted writers, in alphabetical order of their surnames, are Friday John Abba (Alekwu Night Dance), Jude Idada (Oduduwa, King of the Edos) and Sam Ukala (Iredi War).


According to the Chairman of the Advisory Board, Emeritus Professor Ayo Banjo, the eventual winner of the competition will be announced at a World Press Conference on 9th October, 2014.


Friday John Abba, a playwright was Chairman of Kaduna Writers' League and former Vice Chairman of the Kaduna State chapter of the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA).


Playwright, theatre director, film producer and an academic, Sam Ukala was the Chairman, Delta State Chapter of the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA). Ukala’s other published plays include The Slave Wife, The Log in Your EyeAkpakalandand Break a Boil.


Jude Idada, a screen writer, filmmaker and dramatist, has published works in the three genres of literature. He is the author of Flood, Brixton Stories and Lost. He is also the winner of the 2013 Association of Nigerian Authors’ Prize for Drama with his book, Oduduwa: King of the Edos. Idada, who currently lives in Canada, is a graduate of Theatre Arts, from the University of Ibadan.


The chairman of the Panel of Judges is Charity Angya, Professor of Theatre Arts and Vice-Chancellor at Benue State University, Makurdi, Benue State.  Other members of the panel are Prof. Ahmed Yerima, a past laureate of the Prize and professor of Theatre Arts, Redeemer's University, Mowe, Ogun State; and Prof. Akanji Nasiru, a well-respected scholar and professor of Performing Arts, Bowen University, Iwo, Osun State.


Other members of the Advisory Board, besides Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo, are Prof. Jerry Agada, former President of the Association of Nigerian Authors and Prof. Ben Elugbe, former President of the Nigerian Academy of Letters.


The Nigeria Prize for Literature has since 2004 rewarded eminent writers such as Gabriel Okara for his volume of poetry, The Dreamer, His Vision(co-winner 2005 – poetry); Professor Ezenwa Ohaeto, for his volume of poetry, Chants of a Minstrel (co-winner 2005 poetry); Ahmed Yerima (2006 – drama) for his book Hard Ground;  Mabel Segun (co-winner 2007 – children’s literature) for her collection of short playsReader’s Theatre; Prof. Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo (co-winner 2007 – children’s literature) with her book, My Cousin Sammy; Kaine Agary (2008 – prose) for her novel Yellow Yellow; Esiaba Irobi (2010 – drama) who won the prize posthumously with his book Cemetery Road; Adeleke Adeyemi (2011 – children’s literature) with his book The Missing Clockand Chika Unigwe (2012 – prose), with her novel, On Black Sisters’ Street and Tade Ipadeola (2013 – poetry) with his collection of poems,The Sahara Testaments.


The Nigeria Prize for Literature rotates yearly amongst four literary genres: prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature. The 2014 Prize is for drama and comes with a cash prize of $100, 000. Next year’s prize will be for children’s literature. A total of 124 entries for the prize were received this year.


The Nigeria Prize for Literature and The Nigeria Prize for Science are some of Nigeria LNG Limited’s numerous contributions towards building a better Nigeria.



Kudo Eresia-Eke

General Manager, External Relations


Contacts for enquiries:


Tony Okonedo


Manager, Communications and Public Affairs



Anne-Marie Palmer-Ikuku


Senior Media Officer​

©Copyright NLNG Ship Management Limited.